Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Center for Innovation to Implementation (Ci2i)

Quick Links
Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge

Marylene Cloitre, PhD

Marylene Cloitre, PhD, is a Research Health Science Specialist at the National Center for PTSD Dissemination and Training, Palo Alto VA Health Care Services and Director of the VA Mental Illness and Research Training (MIRT) Fellowship. She is also Clinical Professor (Affiliate) in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University. Dr. Cloitre’s research focuses on increasing access to care among Veterans with PTSD and related symptomatology, with special attention to women Veterans who have experienced MST.

Dr. Cloitre’s research focuses primarily on the adverse impact of trauma on social and emotional functioning and the development of interventions to address these difficulties. She is currently the PI of an HSR&D Hybrid effectiveness-implementation trial to assess VVC-delivered psychotherapy to women Veterans with MST and comparing the benefits of Skills Training in Affective and Interpersonal Regulation (STAIR) versus Present Centered Therapy (PCT). She is also collaborating with Vets Prevail, a by-Veteran-for-Veteran company, in comparing a peer-coached web-based version of STAIR (webSTAIR) versus a Waitlist condition among Veterans seeking care in the community. In addition, she is leading a 5-year, 9-site evaluation project funded by the Office of Rural Health assessing the impact of a combination VVC plus web-based service delivery to determine how benefits may vary by the amount of coaching Veterans receive.

Dr. Cloitre was a member of the World Health Organization (WHO) ICD-11 working group on trauma-spectrum disorders. She is past-president of the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies. She is also the 2015 recipient of the Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Practice of Trauma Psychology from Division 56 of the American Psychological Association.

NCPTSD Profile | Publications | Web STAIR SharePoint